Rumble at the Relay

I’ve posted some pictures from the Relay. Believe it or not, we actually did walk, although there is no photographic evidence—at least I didn’t take any pictures on the track. I know, some of you are probably thinking they need to rename the event “Sit-On-Your-Butt for Life” but we really did walk…sometimes.

Of course, the highlight of the evening (I only stayed until 11PM so there may have been something better after I left, but I doubt it) was the finale of the silent auction/throw down over my purse. There was this really cute bag in the silent auction. The first thing I said when I saw it from across the room was “Ooooh! I like that bag!” But, as the price climbed higher and higher, I decided that I wouldn’t bid on it.

Unbeknownst to me, Susie had decided to buy it for me (Awww…she’s so cool) so at the end of the auction, she had the high bid and she says to Melissa, “I’m going to bid on some other stuff. Keep an eye on the purse, and if anyone bids on it, outbid them.” So, Melissa is hanging out, watching the purse, when this guy walks up, looks at the sheet, CROSSES OUT Susie & Melissa’s high bid, and hands the sheet to his girlfriend!

Well…as I said in my previous post, if you know my friends you know that doing nothing just doesn’t work for them. So, was Mr. Purse Snatcher Cheater Man going to get away with that? Huht-huh! They confront him, and end up dragging in the Relay authorities who award the purse to them, and chew out the purse snatcher man. Then they cheerfully sashay over to the tent and present me with the purse…and tell me about the throw down they just had over it.

I just sat there with my mouth hanging open and my newly acquired purse on my lap, half afraid to put it down for fear of the purse snatcher. It’s just amazing to me that the guy was that bold…and at a charity auction no less!

But, it made for a really great story, and I had a lot of fun telling it this morning at church. And I think there’s a moral to this story: Don’t mess with a woman with four kids. She can multitask circles around you, dude. You will get caught. Back away from the purse.

 

Leave a Reply

»
