What a Bargain!

I haven’t written lately because I’ve been feeling tired and not terribly witty, and one of my pet peeves is boring blog posts. I didn’t want to post just for the sake of posting, and have it just be dull. I guess I’m just a stickler for quality, what can I say?

When I asked Dr. Birhiray about my increased fatigue, soreness, and the fact that I felt like a water sausage last go-round, he attributed it to the Neulasta. I guess I’m lucky, considering that one of the potential side-effects is having your spleen explode.

You all remember the Neulasta, right? It’s that belly-shot that I have to take every time that enabled me to fend off Angie’s salmonella germs, along with all the other germs when I visted her at the hospital. It’s also the shot that I’d told you was ridiculously expensive, at $3600 a pop. Well, I need to make a correction, because it’s not $3600, but instead it is exactly three thousand six hundred and eighty-seven dollars…and FIFTY CENTS. (Apparently somebody at Amgen, maker of Neulasta, needed some change to buy themselves a pop.) Gee, when we’re talking about $3687, why not just round up to $3688 instead of tacking on $.50? Is this supposed to make me think I’m getting a bargain? “Wow! Look, Honey, Neulasta’s on SALE for $3687.50! The regular price is $3688…let’s get two this week!”

Clearly they don’t know who they’re dealing with, here. I’m the person who thinks the Goodwill is charging too much these days (and it is—they get the stuff for FREE for crying out loud—but I digress…), and who won’t buy anything unless it’s at least 75% off. So, Amgen, maker of Neulasta, I am not impressed with your attempt to Jedi mind-trick me into thinking you’re doing me some favor, okay? I don’t have any choice but to take the shot, so that extra 50 cents wouldn’t lose any sales for you.

Leave a Reply

