Tasty Thursday – Pork Fritter Pig-Out

Ugh.  It never fails.  Whenever Hubster has to go out of town for work—which doesn’t happen very often—I take the opportunity to avoid actually cooking, and indulge my inner junk foodie. 

 You guys know I really do love to cook good food. Those of you who know me well know that most of the time you won’t find anything pre-fabricated in my fridge or cupboard.   But there’s something about having a night with just me & Mini Me that just screams for Mister Fritters and fries, with an apple turnover chaser. 

 I guarantee that we would not be eating like this if Hubster were home.  First of all, if he *were* to decide to eat pork fritters, you can bet he’d ONLY eat the Pete’s Pride pork fritters.  Hubster’s all high falutin’ like that.  That’s the only kind his family ate when he was coming up, and that makes them, therefore, superior.  Born with a silver fritter in his mouth, he was.  Quite obviously, coming from such an affluent background (one where money was no object, and the Pete’s Pride was abundant) he has no appreciation for what us poor folks ate.  Hence his disgust at the mere mention of Mister Fritters.  And don’t even think about Spam.

 Secondly, Hubster is so doggone spoiled by being married to me, that he thinks he’s too good for pork fritters these days.  He thinks because he gets actual FOOD for supper 364 days a year, that someone OWES him real food on that rare day when someone might just want to fry up some pork fritters. 

 And so it is that whenever Hubster leaves town, Mini Me and I go off the deep end.  Last time, I was really hungry by the time I got the fritters fried and scarfed one down, then thought, “Hmmm, I’m still hungry…I think I’ll eat another one.”  Yeah.  That’s what happens when you eat too fast—your stomach doesn’t have a chance to tell your brain that it’s full.  So, I about made myself sick eating another half fritter before I realized that the second helping wasn’t such a good idea.  Oh sure, a self-controlled, rational person might have just thought, “Is a second pork fritter EVER a good idea?  Nah.”  But I’m neither self-controlled, nor rational most of the time.  I’m pretty much still the same little girl who ate Cornies ‘til she puked hunter orange all over the avocado green carpet back in 1975.

 Of course, I want to eat healthy, so I got a loaf of Flavorite wheat bread to put our fritters on.  And, you know, ketchup is almost like a vegetable.  I’m pretty sure that cancels out any of the bad attributes of the fritters.

 Hubster will probably read this and be like, “No wonder every time I come back from a trip your face is greasy, you’ve gained 5 pounds, and the house smells like the Spelterville Inn.”  Now you know, Honey.

13 Responses to “Tasty Thursday – Pork Fritter Pig-Out”

  1. Kylie Says:

    pork fried fritters…mmmmmm….

  2. sheri Says:

    Pork Fritters wow that brings back memories. I love pork fritters its the poor mans tenderloin. Add Mayo and Pickle and there you go also a side of greasy fries. It’s just like a day at Paradise Lake and lunch in the big ol’ barn.

  3. Garlic Sis Says:

    Speaking of fried food, Dirt Fest is this weekend and I’m pretty excited about funnel cakes, meat on a stick and fried veggies. Who knows, maybe if I’m lucky, there will be room for a pork fritter too.

  4. Pastor's wife Says:

    Hey—Now there’s a memory. Pete’s Pride Pork Fritters….Back in the day, before we stopped eating fried food, we ate 2 or 3 of those. They used to be a quick meal on the run….

  5. The Moody Foodie Says:

    Pork fritters are indeed wonderful.

    Mmmm…festival food. I personally prefer the elephant ear to the funnel cake, but to each her own, of course.

  6. TC Says:

    What the heck IS a fritter? I mean, where on the pig do you find the fritter? (Or maybe I don’t want to know ….) Please tell me it’s nothing like calf fries.

  7. Corncorncorncorn Part 2 « In The Pink Says:

    […] than I first thought.  Or perhaps it’s just irresistible to all those folks who googled “Pete’s Pride Pork Fritters” which, much to my amusement, is the most common search engine term that brings folks […]

  8. Pork Fritter Popularity « In The Pink Says:

    […] to find this blog.  As I’ve mentioned before, more people have come here after searching for pork fritters than anything else.  In fact, the top three search phrases leading readers here are Pete’s […]

  9. Dad Says:

    Son of a gun, did a Google search on “pork Fritters” and u r #5.

  10. The Moody Foodie Says:

    Number FIVE?! I used to be number 2! Dang it! Or maybe that was if you search specifically for Pete’s Pride Pork Fritters.

  11. Nanine Says:

    I know most of these comments were over a year ago so, am not sure if anyone will answer. About once a year my hubby gets a hankerin’ for “Pete’s Pride Pork Fritters”. We’re Hoosiers but have lived in Texas for the last 10 years and they can’t be found anywhere out this way. Stores don’t sell anything like them and restaurants don’t cook anything like them. I can’t even seem to discover who manufactures them. Ahh well…..maybe I’ll try to fry some up myself. Any information would be appreciated.

  12. The Moody Foodie Says:

    Hey Nanine! I bet your hubby misses his pork fritters something terrible. All I can tell you is that they do carry them at Sam’s Club, at least around here. (Might be possible to order them online and pick them up at the store if they don’t have them in stock.) They come in a 5lb box I think—I used a picture from the Sam’s Club website for one of my pork fritter posts, and it was a great big box. It’s Sam’s Club, though, so that’s pretty much what you’d expect. Good luck!

  13. Nanine Says:

    Thanks Moody, I’ve tried ordering them on line from Sam’s Club but no luck. Think I’ll try talking to an actual person next time I go to the store. Would love to know the name of the manufacturer if you still have your 5 lb box.
    Thanks for the help and reply.


Leave a Reply

