The More Things Change, the More They…Change.

My, my, how things have changed in a year.  This time last year, I looked like this:

 butch001

Yeah.  That’s right.  Like a cancer thug.  You want a piece of me?  You think I’m trying to write a bad check at Big Lots?  Need to make sure I’m not impersonating someone else at Family Video?  Grrr.  Back off, Jack, before I take those hoop earrings off and open up a can on your behind.  Now give me that Sandlot dvd and step aside.

 

 

Fast forward to a year later and I look like this:

 me120208

Okay, maybe only slightly less scary because I have hair.  I have HAIR!  Yay!  You have no idea how glad I am to have hair again.  Especially since it’s cold outside.  Seriously, like, bald wasn’t bad.  I could pull that off.  And the super-butch buzzed look wasn’t too bad either.  But then all the in between stuff that I had going on last winter.  Yikes.  Glad that’s over.

And other things have changed this year, too.

 This time last year, me and The Foob pretty much went everywhere together.  Of course, now, he’s enjoying his retirement.  He’s got that fancy RV that he follows the Grateful Dead around in and all.  That is, when he’s not spending the winter in Florida with the rest of the snowfoobs.  But I cherish those times we had together—primarily because they provided me with so much material.  And so, as a tribute to our friend, The Foob, I present to you last year’s caroling foob entry, originally published December 3, 2007:

 santa-foob

Isn’t the Christmas season fun? I love all of the festivities this time of year. No other time is so full of joy, giving, and opportunities to rewrite tunes that everyone knows in my own warped little way. I triple dog dare you to join me in a little impromptu sing-along. Don’t give me that nonsense about how you’re at work and you can’t sing with me, you Christmas carol-hatin’ weenie!

All together now….

You better watch out
You better not cry
You better not pout
I’m tellin’ you why
Santa Foob is coming to town!

He sees you when you’re peeking
Trying to see which one’s fake
Though he looks natural under clothes
He’s a Foob for goodness sake!

So, you better watch out
And look me in the eye
He’s callin’ you out
‘Cause you’re not too sly
Santa Foob is coming to town!

There—wasn’t that FUN?! Isn’t it reassuring to know that all my creative genius is used for good, instead of evil?

3 Responses to “The More Things Change, the More They…Change.”

  1. Faye Adamson Says:

    All I can say is thank you for making me laugh on this dreary day…not so much outside…but with me on the inside….

  2. TC Says:

    Mmm. That driver’s license photo definitely isn’t your best look. But you’re brave to put it up there. I’d never post mine, because in it I look like an ex-con on some bad meth.

    And I must say (in my best Ed Grimley voice) that your uh, cleavage is looking very healthy.

  3. The Moody Foodie Says:

    Faye~ I hope today is better for you. But hey, if not, I’ve already got another post in the works.

    TC~I think the license pic is actually way better than that one down the page of me holding the, uh, jugs. And speaking of jugs…why, yes, thank you, my cleavage is doing quite well these days in a turtle-under-the-pec sort of way. Only 14 more days until I get the permanent replacement.


Leave a Reply

