A Christmas Contest

It’s been quite a while since I held a contest.  Every so often, I like to try to find out how far away this blog is being read.  I get hits from all over the world, but that doesn’t mean they are actually readers.  I get a whole lot of hits from outside the US looking for bald girlfriends.  I don’t know why, and I don’t want to.  But I would like to know how many legitimate readers I have from outside the US.  So, here’s what we’re going to do.  I would like to send Christmas cards to any readers who are not residents of the US.  If you’re in Swaziland or someplace, and that sounds like fun to you, then email me your mailing addy at themoodyfoodie@gmail.com

 Now, maybe you live outside the US but you don’t want to send me your address.  Perhaps you’re afraid I’ll stalk you.  Well, I can’t afford to stalk you, so really you have no worries, but if you’re still weirded out at the prospect at least leave me a comment and say, “Hey, Moody, I’m reading you in <insert your country here>!”   That way I’ll at least know that, someone, somewhere, in an exotic locale like Tanbedistan, loves me.

 Of course, I don’t want to leave out my faithful readers right here in the good ol’ US of A, but there are a lot of you guys, so we’re going to do something a little different.  Here’s the deal: Leave me a comment telling me where you’re at—be sure that I have some way to contact you—either an email, link your to your blog, whatever.  Friday at noon, Indiana time, I’ll pick some lucky winners—the number of winners will depend upon the amount of participants—who will receive an actual prize.  Yeah, a real, live prize.  Okay, maybe not actually ALIVE.  But real, nonetheless.  And what criteria will I use to choose the winners?  I don’t know, but rest assured that comments which include alliteration, rhyme, or references to pork fritters probably have a leg up on the competition.

 One last thought: The other day at Starbucks, I was telling my mom that it’s hard for me to know sometimes if folks think my post is as funny as I think it is.  I said, “I’ll write something that I think is pretty doggone funny, but I barely get any comments.  So then I wonder if I’m the only one who thinks so.”  Do you know what she said, dear readers?  She said, “People are lazy.”  She’s talking about YOU.  My mom called you lazy.  You just got burnt by my mom!  Ouch.

13 Responses to “A Christmas Contest”

  1. Tanya Says:

    Ooooh ooohhh, pick me, pick ME.
    It’s snowing on your blog, very cool.

  2. Mary Creger Says:

    Does south of the Mason Dixon line count as a foreign country? When I was growing up in Michigan it did but now that I live in South Carolina…well my neighbors think not!
    Merry Christmas! that’s about as poetic as I am right now.

  3. Linda Says:

    I’m a reader that just found your site,
    and it’s brought me a lot of delight.
    I don’t say you’re funny,
    but you, see, honey,
    I’m too busy laughing to write.

    Thanks so much for your great sense of humor! Love it!
    Merry Christmas from Georgia!!!!

  4. The Moody Foodie Says:

    Oh my GOSH! Linda, you’re a woman after my own heart!

    Believe it or not but it’s true
    I just wrote a limerick, too
    To ask Hubster when
    He’d be home again
    He likes it much more than haiku

  5. throwslikeagirl74 Says:

    Heh. That’s right I’m lazy. Downright lazy. Grins.

    Merry Christmas from Colorado! (Where it snows, just like on WordPress. Heh.)

    It will be fun to see where we’re all from. 🙂

  6. Kylie Says:

    Hey, I’m writing all the way from Brazil! That should count for something! You didn’t say family couldn’t enter. I can’t make up my own poem, but if you want, I can recite one of Dad’s old poems…

  7. Debbie Says:

    I was much more apt to rhyme when I was younger and my brain wasn’t so, well, old. I really do want to be as funny as you, but I’m not going to try and risk looking like I’m trying to be funny, but not quite getting it. You know how people don’t know whether to laugh or not because they don’t know if you’re trying to be funny or if you’re just kind of nerdy? (Well, no, YOU wouldn’t know) But, that’s what happens to me when I try, so I’m just going to stick with being nerdy and let you make the funny rhymes. Besides, where would I find the time? I have so many things to do and see here in Terre Haute. AND I’m going to fry up some pork fritters and run out for some Starbucks!

  8. Gretchen Says:

    Living in FLA, I’m not familiar with pork fritters. I’ve eaten pork rinds but I’m not sure it’s the same. Your blog has also introduced me to cornin’ and made me smile at your observations of the people thrown together in the waiting rooms.

    BTW, thanks for sending all the senior Indianians for the winter. Driving with them is awful for three months, I’m glad you get them for the other nine months.

  9. The Moody Foodie Says:

    Gretchen~
    Pork fritters are nothing like pork rinds—unless you make a sandwich out of your pork rinds, which is just plain wrong.

    As for the snowbirds, a) we’re Hoosiers, missy, not Indianianianians or whatever you said; and b) having them driving down there during the snowless winter cannot be nearly as as frightening as having any of y’all driving up here when there is so much as a thick coat of frost on the road.

  10. Michelle Says:

    Hi from SC! I don’t have a creative bone in my body so, sorry, no rhymes from me. (Well, SC and me rhyme, but that was dumb luck!) I love your blog and first started reading on CarePages. Even my children know The Foob stories! Keep ’em coming!!

  11. The Moody Foodie Says:

    You know, Michelle, that just totally warms my heart. I can just picture your kids begging to hear about The Foob…”Momma, please, pleeease sing us the Foob song again, pleeease…” And you’d be like, “Okay, little Billy Joe Bob and Bobbie Loretta Sue, one more time, and then it’s lights out…Oh, y’all better watch out…”

    p.s. What’s up with this southern following I’ve got going on? NC, SC, FL, and GA—I’ve got almost the the whole confederacy readin’ my blog! That’s great, though, because the South is one of my favorite places to go—I loves me some southern people, and some barbecue.

  12. Mary Creger Says:

    I wonder if all those folks writing from south of the Mason Dixon line are damn Yankees like me???? It’s horrible to be introduced as the new damned Yankee teacher to a school board member by your boss but with my usual Yankee calm I just answered HI….that’s northern for Hey by the way. You can come and visit any time you want…there is a nice Pepto Bismol pink room just awatin’ for ya in my house!!!!

  13. Theresa Says:

    I’m reading the blog and just think WOW,
    I can’t believe I’m just reading this now!
    I was too busy studying for a test,
    and my limerick may have been the best.
    No way to win now, HOLY COW!

    (From sunny St Pete, Fl.)


Leave a Reply

