Bye-bye Angry Wallet!

Tomorrow’s the big day—my exchange surgery is scheduled for 9:30.  Woo hoo!  I’m getting’ a new boob for Christmas! 

 Of course, I have to be there and hour before surgery, and where I have to be is normally about an hour and a half drive.  However, this afternoon it began to rain.  I know, you’re thinking, “Rain?  So what?”  Well, I’ll tell you what:  It began to rain—and it was 24 degrees outside.  Needless to say, the stuff pretty much froze on contact.  In fact, I ran in to Walmart for about 5 minutes and when I emerged, the door to the Jeep was already trying to seal itself shut. 

 Driving home involved participating in what can best be described as vehicular icecapades.   At one point on the way home, I saw a guy whose truck had slid off the road, spinning around until it was resting on an embankment, perpendicular to the pavement.  Both I, and the truck ahead of me, tried to slow down and see if the guy needed help, but as soon as we started to brake it was obvious that there weren’t gonna be any of that thar stoppin’ going on, unless it was the kind that involved spinning out of control and coming to rest on an embankment.  So, we both kept on rollin’.  Sorry, Mr Man out on the side of the road, I can’t stop, but I wish you all the best!

 All that to say that I have to take into consideration the driving conditions, and the distinct possibility that I may have to thaw out the Jeep before I can even leave.  So, I’ll be getting up earlier, and leaving earlier, than would normally be necessary.  Wouldn’t be a big deal if it weren’t for the fact that I’m not allowed to eat or drink anything after midnight.  Do you know what that means?  It means no coffee.

 (panicky freak-out voice) No coffee!

 I hate that.  You know, the surgery is not a big deal to me.  This will be my sixth…I said sixth…surgery in the past 22 months.  And you know, I’ve been pretty busy lately, so I’m kind of looking forward to the nap.  Plus, I’m excited, because I almost have that punch card filled up, so I think my next surgery is free.  But, man, that whole no coffee thing is a drag.  I need, like, a caffeine patch or something. 

 So anyway, by the time some of you read this, I’ll probably already be over there getting ready to go to surgery.  I may have Hubster update for me while we’re over there, or we might not get it done until we get home.  It is an outpatient thing, so I’ll be home later in the day.

6 Responses to “Bye-bye Angry Wallet!”

  1. Mary Creger Says:

    Oooo icey roads…I remember icey roads! I hated icey roads! I hated snowy, icey roads and really cold air anywhere near me!
    I understand viewing surgery as a good nap! I do that too. Just think…when you wake up in recovery you can have a cuppa! Something to look forward to…and you’ll also have a new breast~~another something to look forward to!
    I’ll be praying for you.

  2. McMullens Says:

    Oh, yikes. The roads outside our house look like skating rinks. I hope you made it OK. (I’m concerned about the drive to work!) Looking forward to hearing from you after you get home and have some coffee.
    Lorie

  3. KNC Says:

    Praying for you. Be careful on the drive and know you’re loved.

  4. Kylie Says:

    I’ll have an extra cup just for you this morning. Give us a call once you wake up from your nap =}

  5. Garlic Sis Says:

    Just to be safe, I’ll have an extra cup too (of coffee, not boob). Drive safe and give me a call later.

  6. Theresa Says:

    I hope all went well.


Leave a Reply

