Pink Ribbon Overload: Roxanne, You Don’t Have to Put on the Pink Light

bulbI’ve got an idea!  See?

 Heh heh.  Really though, this is just odd. 

 “Now with the flip of a switch, you can turn on a pink light to honor someone you know who has breast cancer, is a survivor, or lost the fight.” (Or perhaps just lost their light)

 Like an eternal flame, I suppose.  At least until the bulb burns out.  But as a survivor, I have to say that with the flip of a switch, you could also be turning on your coffee maker.  I’d much rather be honored with a cup of coffee than a pink light bulb.  And considering that each bulb costs $5, you could actually spring for Starbucks.  Just a thought. 

bc bulb This product is made by a company called Mood-factory, and the bulb itself is known as a Mood-lite.  Too bad it’s not Moody-lite, eh?  Adding to the weirdness is that the different colored bulbs are “created to elicit feelings of <insert mood here>”.  In this case, the mood is “sassy” and in fact, that’s what they call the bulb itself.  A sassy.

 The website goes on to say:

 “Brighten Our World Pink is an exciting new way to raise money for Breast Cancer Awareness. Putting a pink Sassy in a porch light or window on October 12th reminds people…blah blah blah” 

I don’t know about you, but I think it’d be much more “exciting” to put a pink sissy on my porch.  Kind of like a Salvation Army bell ringer, except collecting money for breast cancer research.  One that would pinch you, or at least give you a good old fashioned feather boa roundhouse if you didn’t donate to Komen.  “Oh no you dinn’t just walk by here and not put some change in my pink sassy sissy receptacle!”

(Props to Faye for enlightening us with this one.)

5 Responses to “Pink Ribbon Overload: Roxanne, You Don’t Have to Put on the Pink Light”

  1. Mary Creger Says:

    I am glad that you have seen the sassy lite….I thought that just maybe I was imagining it myself. I would like to have a light that I can actually SEE by!

  2. The Moody Foodie Says:

    No kidding. It’s a whopping 25 watts. What am I supposed to do with that? Use it to bake a miniature pink ribbon cake in my Easy Bake Oven?

  3. Bagel Sis Says:

    HAHAHAHAHAHAHA!!!!! Hilarious! I so want a pink sissy for my front porch!!!

  4. The Moody Foodie Says:

    I don’t even know why feedburner sent this out—crazy thing! This post is *only* 4 months old.

  5. Bagel Sis Says:

    I don’t know, but I’m glad it did. I somehow missed it the first time.


Leave a Reply

